Cyrenaica (Benghazi, Shahhat, Tobruk)
The north-eastern region on the Mediterranean Sea.
 Saharan Libya(Gaberoun, Ghadamis, Sabha, Ghat)
Huge southern desert region with amazing scenery and some of the hottest temperatures recorded anywhere in the world.
 Tripolitania (Tripoli, Gharyan, Misratah, Surt ,Zuwara)
The north-western region on the Mediterranean Sea with the capital city and ancient Roman ruins.


  • Tripoli - the capital
  • Benghazi
  • Gharyan
  • Ghadamis
  • Sabha
  • Shahhat— Ancient city of Cyrene, a World Heritage site, is nearby
  • Surt
  • Tobruk
  • Zuwara

Other destinations

  • Ghat - an ancient settlement in the south west with prehistoric rock paintings and very challenging desert trekking
  • Green Mountain
  • Leptis Magna — extensive Roman ruins
  • Nafusa mountains

Leave a Reply

Libya - Travel guide