Mozambique has 10 provinces that can be grouped into the following three regions:

  Northern Mozambique
Cabo Delgado, Nampula and Niassa provinces.
  Central Mozambique
Manica, Sofala, Tete and Zambézia provinces.
  Southern Mozambique
Gaza, Inhambane Vilankulo and the Bazaruto National Sea Park, and Maputo provinces.


  • Maputo - the thriving capital in the far south of the country.
  • Beira - a busy port town and capital of Sofala Province.
  • Ilha de Mozambique - a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the former capital under Portuguese rule.
  • Inhambane - a pretty historic town on a bay.
  • Nampula - an industrial city in the north and capital of Nampula Province.
  • Pemba - in Northern Mozambique, a popular holiday destination for Mozambicans, although its isolation has kept it off the tourist route for most Western visitors.

Other destinations

  • Bazaruto Archipelago - a beautiful island resort and underwater marine park with great diving, geared to high-end tourism.
  • Cahora Bassa dam - Hydro-electric dam on the Zambezi river and the second largest man-made lake in Africa.
  • Gorongosa National Park
  • Ponta d'Ouro - a great dive spot, more easily accessible from South Africa than from Maputo.
  • Quirimbas Archipelago & Quirimbas National Park - at the North of the country, a scenic and secluded holiday destination off the beaten track with lush African bush on the mainland and white sand beaches/crustal blue water in the Archipelago and on the coast. Accessible through Pemba.
  • Tofo Beach - a backpacker haven on the coastline east of Inhambane with excellent diving.
  • Vilanculos - also known as Vilankulo is a popular holiday destination. The gateway to the Bazaruto Archipelago the largest Sea Park in Africa with excellent scuba diving and snorkelling also well known for it's deep sea fishing.

Leave a Reply

Mozambique - Travel guide