Generic filters
Exact matches only

AfrikaansArabicBosnianBulgarianChinese (Simplified)CroatianDanishDutchEnglishEstonianFinnishFrenchGermanGreekHungarianItalianJapaneseKoreanMalayNorwegianPersianPortugueseRussianSerbianSlovenianSpanishSwedishThaiTurkishUkrainian



Info Abuja


Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. It is located in the centre of Nigeria.

Abuja is a planned city, and was built mainly in the 1980s. It officially became Nigeria's capital on 12 December 1991, replacing Lagos, though the latter remains the country's most populous city.

Abuja's geography is defined by Aso Rock, a 400-metre monolith left by water erosion. The Presidential Complex, National Assembly, Supreme Court and much of the city extend to the south of the rock. Zuma Rock, a 792-metre monolith, lies just north of the city on the road to Kaduna State.

At the 2006 census, the city of Abuja had a population of 776,298, making it one of the ten most populous cities in Nigeria. According to the United Nations, Abuja grew at the annual rate of 139.7% between 2000 and 2010, making it the fastest growing city in the world.

POPULATION : City: 1,235,880  /  Metro: 3,000,000 (estimated)
FOUNDED :  1828
LANGUAGE : English (official), Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo (Ibo), Fulani
RELIGION : Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, indigenous beliefs 10%
AREA : 713 km2 (275 sq mi)
ELEVATION : 840 m (2,760 ft)
COORDINATES : 9°4′N 7°29′E
SEX RATIO : Male: 50.90% 
 Female: 49.10%
ETHNIC : 250 ethnic groups
POSTAL CODE : 900211 to 900288


Since most Nigerian government agencies are now headquartered in Abuja and most other countries' embassies have been relocated from Lagos to Abuja, it is a surprisingly expensive city.

Abuja city is quite beautiful. One of few purpose-built cities in the world planned and built from scratch, it has an excellent road network, a beautiful rolling terrain and modern Nigerian architecture.

The tourist attractions :

Aso Rock. A 400-metre monolith and the city's most noticeable feature. 
National Mosque. Built in 1984, open to non-Muslims except during prayer. 
National Church of Nigeria. A large inter-denominational church built in a neo-Gothic style. 
National Assembly Compelx. 
Abuja Millennium Park. A large recreational park which serves as the main getaway for residents. Includes a large system of terraces highlighting the different vegetation zones across the country.

Go shopping at Wuse Market, the main market in Abuja. Everything is available, from fresh food to clothes, music, and electronics. And as markets go, not expensive.


In light of the ethnic and religious divisions of Nigeria, plans had been devised since Nigeria's independence to have its capital in a place deemed neutral to all parties.

The location was eventually designated in the centre of the country in the early 1970s as it signified neutrality and national unity. Another impetus for Abuja came because of Lagos' population boom that made that city overcrowded and conditions squalid. The logic used was similar to the way Brazil planned its capital, Brasília.

Construction broke ground and was dedicated in the late 1970s but, due to economic and political instability, the initial stages of the city were not complete until the late 1980s.


Abuja has a tropical wet and dry climate.

This includes a warm, humid rainy season and a blistering dry season.

The rainy season begins from April and ends in October, when daytime temperatures reach 28 °C (82.4 °F) to 30 °C (86.0 °F) and nighttime lows hover around 22 °C (71.6 °F) to 23 °C (73.4 °F).

 In the dry season, daytime temperatures can soar as high as 40 °C (104.0 °F) and nighttime temperatures can dip to 12 °C (53.6 °F). Even the chilliest nights can be followed by daytime temperatures well above 30 °C (86.0 °F)


The Phase 1 area of the city is divided into ten districts known as cadastral zones:

Central Cadastral Zone A00
Garki I District Cadastral Zone A01
Wuse 1 District Cadastral Zone A02
Garki II District Cadastral Zone A03
Asokoro Cadastral Zone A04
Maitama Districts Cadastral Zone A05
Maitama Cadastral Zone A06
Wuse II Districts (Cadastral Zone A07 & Cadastral Zone A08)
Guzape District Cadastral Zone A09

There are also sixteen districts in Phase 2.

Kukwuaba Cadastral Zone B00,
Gudu Cadastral Zone B01,
Durumi Cadastral Zone B02,
Wuye Cadastral Zone B03,
Jabi Cadastral Zone B04,
Utako Cadastral Zone B05,
Mabuchi Cadastral Zone B06,
Jahi Cadastral Zone B08,
Kado Cadastral Zone B09,
Dakibiyu Cadastral Zone B10,
Kaura Cadastral Zone B11,
Duboyi Cadastral Zone B12,
Gaduwa Cadastral Zone B13,
Dutse Cadastral Zone B14.
Katampe Ext Cadastral Zone B19,

The Phase 3 districts are:

Institution and Research Cadastral Zone C00,
Karmo Cadastral Zone C01,
Gwarinpa Cadastral Zone C02.
Dape Cadastral Zone C04,
Kafe Cadastral Zone C05
Nbora Cadastral Zone C06,
Galadimawa Cadastral Zone C07,
Dakwo Cadastral Zone C08,
Lokogoma Cadastral Zone C09,
Wumba Cadastral Zone C10,
Idu Industrial Cadastral Zone C16


- We have access to a global database of flights by 728 airlines and 200 flight booking agencies, which allows us to find flights in real time and compare them with each other.

- We collects prices at the 200 largest hotel reservation agencies and official websites of hotels. Get all prices in just one place.

- We use TrustYou™, the smart semantic analysis system, to gather reviews from many booking services (including, Agoda, and others), and calculate ratings based on all the reviews available online.

We find the best hotel and flight deals and you choose the one you prefer.

Nigeria - Travel guide