Kigali district
The area surrounding the capital
 Northern Rwanda
Gorillas in the Mist
 Western Rwanda
 Eastern Rwanda
 Southern Rwanda


  • Kigali
  • Byumba
  • Rubavu, formerly Gisenyi
  • Muhanga, formerly Gitarama
  • Huye, formerly Butare
  • Kibungo
  • Karongi, formerly Kibuye
  • Musanze, formerly Ruhengeri

(Cities were renamed a few years ago when the administrative structure of Rwanda was re-vamped. The former names refer to old provincial capitals. Expect people to use either name listed to refer to these cities.)

Other destinations

Rwanda has 3 national parks:

  • Akagera National Park
  • Volcanoes National Park – home to the mountain gorillas, this park spreads into Uganda and Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Nyungwe National Park

Leave a Reply

Rwanda - Travel guide


Pin It on Pinterest