• Thimphu - The capital city
  • Jakar - Administrative city to the north and birthplace of Buddhism in Bhutan.
  • Mongar - One of the largest cities in eastern Bhutan.
  • Paro - The location of the international airport and Taktsang Monastery.
  • Punakha - Former winter capital of Bhutan. It hosts the Monastic Body in winter.
  • Phuentsholing - A town on the Indian border. The point of entry for travelers arriving by bus from Kolkata.
  • Samdrup Jongkhar - An administrative town in the southeast, near the Indian border.
  • Trashigang - A picturesque administrative town in the east.
  • Trongsa - A small administrative town famous for its dzong and the Tower of Trongsa

Other destinations

National parks

  • Jigme Dorji National Park
  • Jigme Singye Wangchuck National Park
  • Royal Manas National Park
  • Thrumshingla National Park

Wildlife sanctuaries/Nature reserves

  • Bomdeling Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Khaling Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Phibsoo Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Sakteng Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Toorsa Strict Nature Reserve

Official Site of National Parks and Protected Areas in Bhutan: [www]

Leave a Reply

Bhutan - Travel guide