South Korea




South Korea is administratively divided into 9 different provinces as listed below. The largest cities actually are separate entities from these provinces, but from a travelers perspective we include them in the most relevant province.

Surrounding Seoul and covered in its urban sprawl, and the Korean Demilitarised Zone close by.
Natural wonderland with the Seoraksan National Park, beaches and ski resorts.
 North Chungcheong
A landlocked province filled with mountains and national parks.
 South Chungcheong
central western part of the country. Flat area made up of rice paddies. Point where main train lines and highways converge and known for its hot springs.
 North Gyeongsang
largest province and richest area for historical and cultural sites, such as Andong, Gyeongju and the islands of Ulleungdo.
 South Gyeongsang
known for its gorgeous seaside cities, and beaches where most Koreans take their summer holidays.
 North Jeolla
Noted for great Korean food.
 South Jeolla
Lots of beautiful small islands and landscape, fantastic food (especially seafood along the coast) and good for fishing.
South Korea's honeymoon island, created by a volcano. Great scenery with wild flowers and horseback riding.


  • Seoul (서울) — the dynamic 600 year old capital of South Korea, a fusion of the ancient and modern
  • Busan (부산, 釜山) — the second largest city and a major port city of Korea
  • Chuncheon (춘천, 春川) — capital city of Gangwon province, surrounded by lakes and mountains and known for local dishes, dakgalbi and makguksu
  • Daegu (대구, 大邱) — a cosmopolitan city, rich with ancient traditions and sights
  • Daejeon (대전, 大田) — a large and dynamic metropolis located in Chungnam province
  • Gwangju (광주, 光州) — the administrative and economic centre of the area, the largest city in the province
  • Gyeongju (경주, 慶州) — the ancient capital of the Silla Kingdom
  • Incheon (인천, 仁川) — second busiest port in the country, location of the country's largest international airport
  • Jeonju (전주, 全州) — once the spiritual capital of the Joseon Dynasty, now a leading center of the arts filled with museums, ancient buddhist temples, and historical monuments

Other destinations

  • Seoraksan National Park (설악산국립공원) — spread out over four cities and counties, the country's most renowned national park and mountain range
  • Andong (안동시) — historically rich in Confucious traditions and home of living folk village
  • Ansan (안산시) — a city in Gyeonggi province on the coast of the Yellow Sea
  • Guinsa (구인사) — spectacular mountain headquarters of the Buddhist Cheondae sect
  • Panmunjeom (판문점) — the only tourist site in the world where the Cold War is still reality
  • Boseong (보성군) — rolling hills blanketed with green tea leaves where you can stroll along a wooded path and stop at a nearby spa to drink the home grown tea and take a seawater bath.
  • Yeosu (여수시) — one of the country's most picturesque port cities especially at night. Famous for its seafood and beaches, you can visit some of the islands in Hallyeo Ocean Park with cruise or watch sunset from its fabulous Dolsan Bridge or romantic cafes near marinas.
  • Jindo (진도) — commonly associated with the dog native to that area, the Jindo, every year people flock to the area to witness the parting of the sea and participate with the accompanying festivities
  • Ulleungdo (울릉도) — scenic remote island off the east coast of peninsula

Leave a Reply

South Korea - Travel guide


Pin It on Pinterest