Generic filters
Exact matches only

ArabicBosnianBulgarianChinese (Simplified)CroatianDutchEnglishFinnishFrenchGermanGreekItalianKoreanMalayNorwegianPortugueseRussianSerbianSlovenianSpanishSwedishThaiTurkishUkrainian


Visa & Passport

Visa & Passport


Passport holders of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Argentina when the purpose of the visit is tourism for up to 90 days: Andorra, Australia,* Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada,* Czech Republic, Chile, Cyprus, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada (30 days), Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica (30 days), Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia (30 days), Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, Norway, Netherlands, New Zealand, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America,* Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela (60 days).

Reciprocity Fee

While visas are not required for tourist visits for US, Canadian, and Australian citizens, the Argentinian Government charges a "Reciprocity Fee" for citizens using passports from those countries. The fees paid by travellers are dependent on their nationality and similar to the amounts that Argentinian citizens pay for visa applications to visit the US, Canada, or Australia. Since 2013, ALL entries to Argentina at ALL ports of entry have required pre-payment of the reciprocity fee at the Argentinian Department of Immigration website.

For US citizens, the USD160 fee allows multiple entries to Argentina for a period of 10 years. For Australians, the USD100 fee allows multiple entries for 1 year. Canadian citizens must pay a USD92 fee for a period of 10 years or valid until 1 month before the passport expiration. Proof of payment needs to be printed out and presented to immigration officials upon arrival.

As of 24 March, 2016, reciprocity fees no longer apply to US passport holders.

Citizens of India or Morocco have to obtain a visa in their country of usual residence, but the visa is free.

At arrival

When entering Argentina the immigration officials will take a photo of you and scan your fingerprints, the same procedure as when entering the United States. You are also required to fill in a customs form where one of the things they ask is the serial number of your cell phone. You may bring in goods worth of USD300 without paying duties.

If you are just changing planes at the same airport and not actually enter the country you will still be given that customs form to fill in but as of May 2014 nobody asks for it at the airport and travelers basically get to keep it as a souvenir.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *